Recent Board Members

I always used the CASE (Copy And Steal Everything) method to develop training materials until I discovered RTAP. They give it to you for free. Use it!

John Filippone, former National RTAP Review Board Chair

Current Review Board Members

Please note that end dates shown for Board Member terms are the date of the Member's last meeting. Terms officially extend up to, but not including the following Board Meeting (Spring or Fall).  In addition, normally our Review Board consists of 14 members.  Currently we have 16, as two outgoing members were unable to attend our Spring Meeting, so we brought on two new members early.

Michele Nystrom

Michele Nystrom, Outgoing Chair
Transit Compliance and Asset Manager
Division of Intermodal
Georgia Department of Transportation
600 W. Peachtree St
Atlanta, GA 30308
Phone: 404-631-1235
F 2014-S 2018

Jennie Rowland, Chair
Transportation Manager
Bois Forte Public Transportation
5344 Lakeshore Drive
Nett Lake, MN 55772
Phone: 218-757-3261
S 2015-S 2019


Curtis Sims, Jr., CSSO, Vice Chair
Training, Safety/Security, and RTAP Program Manager
Office of Public Transit South Carolina
Department of Transportation
955 Park St, Room 201, PO Box 191
Columbia, SC 29202-0191
Phone: 803-737-0071
S 2016-F 2018



Glen Bahm
Transit Coordinator
Standing Rock Public Transit
9299 Highway 24
Fort Yates, ND 58538
Phone: 701-854-8035
S 2018-F 2020

Kari Banta
Program Manager, RTAP and Section 5310
Texas Department of Transportation
125 East 11th Street
Austin, TX 78701
Phone: 512-465-7368
F 2016-S 2019

Jessica Carter
Director of Public Transportation
Chilton Transit
508 Enterprise Road, P.O. Box 1245
Clanton, AL  35045
Phone: (205) 755-5941
F 2017-S 2020

Julia Castillo
Executive Director
Heart of Iowa Regional Transit Authority (HIRTA)
2824 104th Street
Urbandale, IA 50322
Phone: 515-309-9281
S 2018-F 2020

Marcele J. Edington
Program Manager
Office of Passenger Transportation, Michigan Department of Transportation
425 West Ottawa Street, P.O. Box 30050
Lansing, MI 48909
Phone:  517-373-7645
F 2017-S 2020

Tim Geibel
Executive Director
Crawford Area Transit Authority (CATA)
214 Pine Street
Meadville, PA 16335
Phone: 814-336-5600
S 2018-F 2020

Katharine Mitchell
Senior Transportation Planner
Regional Transportation Authority of Pima County
1 E. Broadway Blvd., Suite 401
Tucson, AZ 85701
Phone: 520-495-1415
S 2017-F 2019

Mike Oliver
Maintenance Manager
Clallam Transit System
830 W. Lauridsen Blvd
Port Angeles WA 98362
Phone: 360-452-1315 x7359   
F 2015-S 2018

Amy Rast
Public Transit Coordinator
Vermont Agency of Transportation (VTrans)
One National Life Drive
Montpelier, VT 05633
Phone: 802-828-6521
S 2018-F 2020

Kari Ruse
Transit Liaison Manager
Nebraska Department of Roads
1500 Highway 2, PO Box 94759
Lincoln, NE 68509
Phone: 402-479-4694
F 2016-S 2019

Neil Sherman
Director of Statewide Transit Programs
Virginia Department of Rail and Public Transportation
600 East Main Street, Suite 2102
Richmond, VA 23219
Phone: 804-786-1154
S 2018-F 2020


Connie J. Sipe
Executive Director
Center for Community 
700 Katlian, Suite B
Sitka, AK 99835
Phone: 907-966-4232
F 2017-S 2020

Frank Thomas
Region V Coordinator
Rail and Public Transit Division
Oregon Deptartment of Transportation
3012 Island Avenue
La Grande, OR 97850
Phone: 541-963-1362
S 2016-F 2018